Music: Angela Aki – Blue – Album Review

“Foolish Love Cry In My Blood You and I”

Artists: Angela Aki

Age: September 15, 1977 (age 34)

Genre: JPop, Ballad, Piano

Released: 18th July 2012

I can’t remember the last time I listened to music, fell in love with a song and wanted to promote it to everyone. It’s been a slump for Jpop for the last two years, as far as I’m concerned. Just as I’m dying of music withdrawal, I come across an entire album…

Angela Aki, the singer who did the theme Kiss Me Goodbye for Final Fantasy XII, is back with a breathtakingly beautiful album.

Filled with her sweet, melodious voice in the same style as her third album TODAY, BLUE is presented with more skill in every way. Her voice creates mournful sounds in Aiueo, whereas Koi no Kihiki is whimsical, and Cry has ripping notes. Some songs have a jazz flair, while the titular BLUE is a strange assortment of steel pans.

Personally, I’m a fan of her ethereal ballads, but her voice is amazing in any song. Even after having her first child, she’s come back with a quality production.

See the album listing below:

.

.

1. Aiueo (アイウエオ)
2. Kokuhaku (告白; Confession)
3. Foolish Love
4. Koi no Kakehiki (恋の駆け引き; Everything she wants)
5. Cry
6. In My Blood
7. You and I
8. Monster (モンスター)
9. Kokoro no Tenkyohou (心の天気予報; Weather of the heart)
10. factory
11. Yoake Mae no Inori (夜明け前の祈り; Prayer before dawn)
12. BLUE
13. One Family ~Uchuu no Nagisa~ (宇宙の渚; Nagisa of the universe)

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

