Purchased: Japanese for Busy People Book I

“Learning languages.. yikes!”

Author: Japanese Language Teaching

Genre: Language, Non-Fiction, Age: All ages

I’ve been struggling to learn Japanese for a while. There seem to be a lot of wanna-be-guru tutorials online, but nothing beats a good, old-fashioned language book.

This is Japanese for Busy People, one of the most commonly used Japanese learning books on the market right now.

This book, version 3 of Book I, covers all the basics that you’ll ever need. I’ve actually made it quite far into the book cause I was testing learning from some sample chapters and it’s really easy to learn and understand from.

I know other language sources like Rosetta Stone are available if you want a complete and in-depth experience, however, I watch enough anime and J-drama to get a hang of hearing the language. I’m fine with just the book. PLUS, I have the CD from this book if I need to hear sentences read out.

(The CD version is optional and is more expensive than the sans-CD version).

If I manage to complete the book, which I estimate will be around 4 to 6 months, then there’s also Japanese for Busy People Books II and JFBP Book III.

Note: The version I have is Kana version 3.0, which is the latest one. You can find the older versions cheaper, and they don’t contain many differences, just some lack of pictures and some sentences and chapters switched around.

If you just want to learn how to speak and not write, try the Romaji version, instead of Kana version; they don’t contain any Japanese scripts just the pronunciations.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

